Administrators can delete a historical record to anyone's employee file in the company. Managers can delete a historical record of their direct reports.
A few things that you need to consider before deleting a historical record:
- Deleting an information on the Employee History drop down section will not only remove a certain record but the information that you entered on the date (that you selected) as a whole.
Best practice: Before deleting a specific date with a record that you want to remove, take note of the information that you want to keep and then enter them back in the employee record by Adding a new historical record.
- If in the event that you are deleting an initial record, TribeHR will not allow you to do so. There will be no "Delete Historical Record" link. Instead a message of "This record cannot be deleted. Removing the information in this record would leave an incomplete current profile for this employee".
Best Practice: Before deleting the date of the initial record that contains an information that you want to remove, take note of the data that you want to keep and then enter them back in the employee record by Adding a new historical record together with a date prior (a day before) from the initial record on file.
After taking into consideration the factors above, you can now delete a historical record by completing the following steps:
1. Login as an Administrator and navigate to the employee profile.
2. Click on the Employee History drop down section then click on the Date (blue hyperlink) that you wish to delete (in this case, we are using Jan 7, 2015 as our example).
3. The next screen will show you the detailed information of the date that you selected. Click on Delete Historical Record, if you want to remove the record completely. Otherwise, click on Close Record or click on X to go back to the Employee History section.
4. Once you clicked on Delete Historical Record, a pop up message will appear confirming this action. Click OK if you want to remove the record completely. Otherwise, click Cancel.
5. After confirming the action, you can go back to the Employee History section and you will see that the record has been removed (Jan 7, 2015 is no longer on record).
Still have questions on how to delete a historical record? Submit a help request and the TribeHR support team will be happy to help!